Why I decided to start a blog!

So one day in the summer of 2015, when I was busy scrolling through social media and admiring other people’s lives and seeing how much they’ve accomplished in the past 3 months; I was thinking, ‘what have I done this summer?’ So I reflected: I went on two trips to California and discovered a lot, including this cute, old-fashioned soda fountain that has a modern twist. I had my second dance recital; I finally succeeded at making French macarons (which I am REALLY proud of!)

I got to see the amazing 5 Seconds of Summer and heard their new single ‘She’s Kinda’ Hot’ live, which I’m still having heart problems from. I also bumped into Rachel ‘Bunny’ Meyer (aka Grav3yardgirl on YouTube.) I visited the legendary TCL Chinese Theater (the place with all the celebrity handprints in California if you didn’t know.) I FINALLY got an Instagram after many months—maybe even years of whining about it to my parents, and hopefully I’ve dyed my hair a different color for the first time since this will be in the future—yes, I am a part-time fortune teller as well (;.

Now, I’m not saying that my summer was terrible; I think this has been the busiest summer I’ve had in a while. I’m also not saying that I was always doing something every day of the summer; there were some times when I was staying up after midnight, pinning things to my Pinterest boards or watching 15 minute haul videos on YouTube. And that’s when I got the idea of starting a blog. The more I thought about it, the idea seemed better and better. Nowadays, so many teenagers like me, are becoming models, singers, and internet icons. I love how people can become so popular and still be themselves and do what they love. I created this blog because I want to show other people what I love to do and the perspective on how I look at the world.

So let me introduce myself. Hi, my name is Amani. I love to do the usual teenage things like shopping for clothes that I could never afford on my own and trying to act cool in front of strangers that probably don’t even notice me. I have an obsession with non-working facial masks, overpriced candles, and I have extreme wanderlust. And lastly (cue in inspirational music); I want this blog to be a place where people can be inspired and they can totally relate to the problems I’m facing. We’re all pretty much connected some way or another, and this cruel world wouldn’t seem so cruel if we could all get along. So why not join in the awkwardness of my blog? It’s like making virtual friends—just not in the Catfishing way (:.

<3,

Amani

2 comments

  1. Michelle · August 23, 2015

    This is so cute Amani!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

