Leaving Things Unfinished

 

With the creative process, I do already know that not every idea will be a good one. And the one’s that are will work out in the end. But when you are in the midst of creating the idea, I usually get the feeling of being stuck and from there, I keep the project unfinished. This must happen to a lot of artists  and I think you’ll agree with me when I say that it sucks when this occurs. I’ve always liked to write stories and I can imagine how the characters will act, their appearances, and what their role in the story is, but that’s when I get stuck on the plot. I can think of the beginning  and the progression of the character’s traits, but as I dive more into the plot, I start to feel like the story loses its uniqueness and energy. It begins to feel like a chore sometimes, to get through the droning parts so I can get to the interesting segments. Then I become uninterested and feel like the idea is no longer enjoyable. And that’s where the process stops. I don’t think it’s a sense of procrastinating, but more that it’s stressful to get back into the swing of the story. It’s kind of like walking uphill. You start invigorated, with energy surging through your legs. But as you begin to get to the middle of that very high hill, your body loses strength, and you either decide to push through, or try to find some way around it. It’s quite a depressing metaphor, but sometimes I’m able to push through and reach the peak of the hill. But other times, like recently, I tend to push some of my ideas to the back of my mind and not worry about them. It could just be the summer season, when I usually become my most sluggish, or just that those ideas aren’t exactly my best ones. This isn’t supposed to sound sad or anything, it just happens. I’m sure I’ll be able to push through and resume with the ideas I’m working on now, and if you are going through the same thing, reassess your idea, and either push through it or not. Because sometimes things remain unfinished.

 

<3,

Amani

Leave a Reply

