An Over Exaggeration of My Trip to Ikea

Nevada has recently been gifted the Swedish-originated furniture store which we call Ikea. Originally, it had been officially open a while back, but it’s been extremely hyped for months now. We’ve been waiting to visit Ikea until the crowd dies down, but even a couple months later on a slow Saturday, it is still very much populated.

When we first arrived, it was like we were at some attraction. I saw couples lugging out boxes, babies playing with the kiddie model homes, and even some friends who had invited each other to view the extravagant home décor store. It was kind of amazing to see how much business Ikea was receiving. I’ve never seen any other furniture supply store with a healthy amount of customers coming through at a steady pace, in fact, I’ve never seen any furniture store like Ikea, ever. The atmosphere seemed very open and certainly not stuffy at all. Once those Ikea doors cracked open, I immediately smelled the cafeteria upstairs, which I assumed they were probably serving their well-known Swedish meatballs. Before we decided to eat, we figured we should just see what Ikea has to offer, and I have to say that they certainly didn’t disappoint. My sister and I had checked out the grocery section and I immediately became infatuated with the cookbook they were selling! It was all just so perfectly pictured and had very simple aesthetic. I felt like it could have been it’s own art piece. I received a feeling of nostalgia once I saw the boxed juices they were selling; it took me back to a time when I didn’t really care how many boxed Hi-C, orange-flavored juices I could slurp down in one sitting.

We then went upstairs to view model bedrooms, which is when I discovered how many people were actually in this superstore. It becomes a little harrowing for me when it comes to crowds. I tend to feel rushed and forlorn when I’m surrounded by so many personalities, which is why I was gratefully surprised at how calm I felt. Maybe it was that every one in the store had been focused on their own thing and probably just enjoying the experience as much as I was. We then moved on to the children’s area, which gave us a good laugh since my older sister became so ecstatic over the fact that they had a miniature cooking set for the kids. My goal originally for going to Ikea was to find a reasonably priced comforter for my bed, preferably in white. After a moment of surveying the various rooms and following the masses of other people, we came upon what I was looking for: the bedding. There they were; the white sheets I had been longing for in all their glory. I got to work, expertly feeling and comparing each of the comforters to each other to find which one I wanted. They had been separately ranged in comforters that were made to keep you warm and others to cool, as I was looking for the cooling ones. I was able to find one that succeeded what I was looking for and I am happy to say that I bought it and I’m currently a very happy customer (:. Besides that, we also found a bamboo cutting board, which I’ve always wanted since I have the strange satisfaction of cutting fruits and vegetables on wooden cutting boards.

Along with a couple other smaller items in hand, we had realized that we’ve been trotting around Ikea for at least 3 hours, and the cheery female voice on the intercom informed us that Ikea will soon be closing along with the cafeteria, who will be serving their last meals for the next 30 minutes. We didn’t want to waste any more time, so we decided to keep the rest of our venturing through Ikea for another day, and head on down to the cashier so we could get the last of the cafeteria food. To get to the checkout lines, we had to pass through the industrial part of Ikea; boxes of various furniture sets loomed over us, almost poking the ceiling. After we paid, we raced upstairs once more to get to the cafeteria. We weren’t the only ones trying to get the last bite; some families sat quietly finishing up their plates, while others just lounged on the couches and stared at the night sky, now shimmering with Vegas lights. I ordered the chicken meatballs with mashed potatoes, a vegetable medallion, cornbread, and one of those boxed-nostalgia juices that was Elderflower flavored. The whole meal was very savory and the juice was a great balance for it, along with the cornbread, which could have been mistaken for a piece of sweet cake. It felt like it was Thanksgiving all over again, and I’m certainly okay with that. There are still some areas of Ikea that are currently unknown to me, but I feel pretty satisfied with what I got out of my first trip, and I feel like I really got the whole Ikea experience. Next stop, Ikea, Sweden!

 

<3,

Amani

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

3 comments

  1. lindseylivings · September 20

    Ikea is amazing, but after visiting it a few times you end up skipping to the cafeteria asap for the meatballs. I cannot believe you got lucky enough to only spend 3 hours there though haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey It'z A · September 22

      I was kind of thinking of going back there with some friends and make it an event. But I’m surely going back for those meatballs!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous · August 28

    you forgot about the part when that salty mother hid her excitement over the tiny kitchen set from us
    I felt this was under exaggerated but still a 10/10
    💋 you know who…I love you

    Like

Leave a Reply

