My Natural Year-a 2017 poem

I learned to hate my hair

Before I knew how to love it.

I can’t say for sure

Whether it was the media

or just my self doubts.

I never liked

How big it was

The attention

It would bring

Was embarrassing.

I never understood

Why God would give

Me such a burden

As shallow as it may sound.

I burned my hair

So I could be

The way I thought

Normal was

And even then

I was never happy with how

It looked.

How unnatural it seemed.

It’s been almost a year

Since I’ve decided

To understand how I was

Born.

Now I see

Natural hair

As art, a blessing perhaps

That each curl

Holds a sense

Of your personality.

Although I’m able

To be more proud

Of my curls

I still wonder

“How can you

Run your fingers

Through hair

As chaotic as this?”

And I answer that

By saying

Your hands may not run

Easily but they will be

Entrapped

In love

In culture

In acceptance

In hair product

And in curls

That knows where

It should stand.

I will always go

Through stages

Of forgetting

Who I am

But when I do

I must come back to this

To remind myself

How amazing it truly

Was

That day

I started

My natural year.

 

<3,

A curly-headed cutie

 

5 comments

  1. Anonymous · January 8

    {scan}
    -👑

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous · January 8

    My Dearest Amani,
    God made you perfect and you’ve made my life and this world a better place with your beautiful, natural self! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey It'z A · January 10

      <3, and He made you a beautiful human bean such as yourself!

      Like

  3. Beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

